Lives Apart: Deception


Amazon Customer Rating: [usr 4.5]
Goodreads Rating:  [usr 4.34]

Kindle: £0.99

Paperback: £12.99

  • About

    As the war enters its fourth year, the characters find that every aspect of their lives have changed and nothing is as they’d ever imagined it would be. Deception continues the story of Lives Apart, featuring a group of individuals and their families as they face the hardships of war:

    Joe Price: Facing uncertainty at home, Joe believes his only hope is to escape the camp and find his way back to England. In doing so, however, he puts himself and his friends in greater danger than ever.

    Peggy Cooper: Having made the hardest decision of her life, Peggy settles down to a more peaceful life, only to find that more trouble awaits, and with it, the greatest loss of the war so far.

    Louis Servier: Serving with the Maquis in the Pyrenees, Louis feels as though he has finally found his place in the war. Reminders of the past are never far away, though, and soon he risks everything to save the one he’s always loved.

    Brigitte Fabron: Placing herself in danger has become second-nature for Brigitte, but soon she realises that there is more at stake than her own personal safety.

    Marcel Servier: Promoted through the ranks, and happily married, Marcel is serving with Special Forces, when he receives the worst possible news.

    Olive Cooper: Despite Dickson’s help, Olive continues to cause problems for those around her, her jealousy and drinking leading others into more trouble than even she could imagine.

    Jeanne Coultard: Fearful of losing everything, Jeanne finds hope and ultimate safety from the most unexpected quarter. Will the rest of her family be as lucky?

    Pamela Lloyd-Smythe: Now an established SOE operative, Pam thrives on the danger of her exploits. However, just as she’s allowing herself to really love again, betrayal comes from a most unexpected quarter.

    As the characters progress through the hardships of their war, they discover that trust is one of the most valuable assets in any relationship and, when that fails, deception can cost dearly. This is the fourth of a five part chronicle, telling the story of several individuals and their families through the Second World War.

    *** This book has some adult content. ***
  • Product Details

    Format(s): Paperback and Kindle
    ISBN: 978-1-910603-20-8 (Paperback)
    ASIN: B0189ILM8S (Kindle)
    Edition: 1st Edition
    Imprint: GWL Publishing
    Classification: Fiction, Historical Romance, Family Sagas, War
    Paperback Published: 07 January, 2016
    Kindle Published: 07 January, 2016
    No of pages: 464pp

  • Review(s)

    Praise for Lives Apart Series: Deception:

    • I really enjoyed these books She managed to get me really immersed...

      I really enjoyed these books She managed to get me really immersed...

      I really enjoyed these books She managed to get me really immersed in the characters and I looked forward to the next book in the saga to find out what was happening to them. It gave me a real “feel for life during WW2.
      Marian Curran – Amazon Review, 13 March, 2017.

    • Five Stars

      Five Stars

      Really good books following the lives of different people during WW2.
      carol love – Amazon Review, 10 August, 2017.

    • Great book

      Great book

      4th book, you cannot just buy one book, you need the set, but you will also find it very hard to put the books down.
      patricia glover – Amazon Review, 21 September, 2016.

    • Series of books well worth reading

      Series of books well worth reading

      Excellent series of five books covering the war years through the lives of very different characters. Well written and a series to be recommended set in such an interesting period of history.
      Carol Carter – Amazon Review, 07 December, 2017.

  • Audio Sample

    Lives Apart: DECEPTION